Who Is Responsible in a Rideshare Accident?Request Free Consultation
Rideshare services like Uber or Lyft are becoming increasingly popular across the state of Georgia. These mobile apps offer a seemingly convenient, reliable mode of transportation. However, serious accidents involving Uber and Lyft drivers occur every year.
If you were injured in a rideshare accident, you may wonder what to do next. Georgia law allows victims of rideshare accidents to file a lawsuit or insurance claim against the person who was responsible for the collision. Determining liability in a rideshare accident can be complex, but an Athens injury attorney can help you understand your legal options.
The Driver Who Caused the Collision Is Liable for the Accident
Georgia is a fault-based accident state that requires negligent drivers to pay for the damages of their victims. Liability in a rideshare accident case will depend on who caused the accident. Depending on the circumstances, the liable party may be the rideshare driver or another motorist on the road.
If a third-party driver caused the accident, you would file a lawsuit or insurance claim against him or her. In the event that an Uber or a Lyft driver caused the accident, you could pursue a claim against his or her private insurance or the company’s policy. In some situations, you could file a lawsuit against the driver in civil court.
How to File a Claim Against an Uber or a Lyft Driver
Uber and Lyft have very similar rules when it comes to accidents involving their drivers. If a rideshare driver is responsible for the accident, the company may provide insurance coverage if the driver was logged into the app and if the victim has already exhausted the driver’s private insurance. Many insurance policies have exceptions for vehicles that are used for commercial purposes.
After you file an insurance claim against the driver’s policy, you could file a claim against Uber or Lyft’s insurance policy. The amount of coverage will depend on the driver’s status at the time of the accident:
- If the driver is logged into the app but has not accepted a ride request, the company would provide up to $50,000 per person injured in the accident; $100,000 in total bodily injury liability; and $25,000 in property damage liability.
- If the driver has a passenger in the vehicle or is on the way to pick up a passenger, liability coverage will increase to $1 million.
- If the driver is not logged into the app, you will not be eligible for coverage.
In some cases, the available insurance coverage is not enough to pay for your losses. You could pursue a lawsuit against the rideshare driver in civil court to recover the remainder of your award. However, unless the driver is an employee of the rideshare company, you cannot file a lawsuit against the entity itself.
Speak to an Attorney About Your Rideshare Accident Case
If you were involved in an Uber or Lyft accident, it is important to speak to an Athens accident attorney as soon as you can. Navigating this complex legal process can be challenging, but a lawyer can help you understand your legal options and develop a strategy to recover the compensation that you deserve.
After your accident, seek medical care and gather as much evidence as possible. Then, schedule a free case consultation with a Georgia rideshare accident lawyer.